Who We Are

The Institute of Musical Traditions is a nonprofit (501) (c) (3) organization, dedicated to preserving and promoting traditional music and folk arts. While promoting the work of internationally renowned artists, we also support the "emerging artist" community in metropolitan Washington.

Born from the House of Musical Traditions in 1988, our world-class performances, programs, and other activities are funded through corporate donations, foundations, and public funding agencies, but mostly through ticket sales and contributions from individuals like yourself.

Corporate Address
P.O.Box 5930 Takoma Park, MD 20913
Office: 301-754-3611
Email Office@imtfolk.org

Executive Co-Directors
Bernard Argent
& Barbara Ryan

Dave Richardson - 301-270-9090

Board of Directors
Kent Murray - Vice President
Jim Byrne - Secretary
Art Shaw - Treasurer
David Eisner - Founder - 301-270-9090
Andy Bryson
Rob Wolcott

Honorary Board Members
Charlotte Blake Alston
Mary Chapin Carpenter
John Cephas & Phil Wiggins
Garrison Keillor
Kevin Locke
Sue Mingus
Tom Paxton
Rickey Payton
Frankie & Doug Quimby
Pete Seeger

Jay Ungar & Molly Mason


Who We Are Concert Calendar Event Directions Contact Us Home